Driving Under the Influence (DUI) charges can significantly impact your freedom and your future. A DUI conviction can result in hefty fines, the suspension of your driver’s license and even jail time. A second DUI offense typically comes with even harsher consequences, since judges are less likely to give repeat offenders a break.
Being arrested for a DUI can be stressful and expensive. If you have been arrested for a DUI or a repeat DUI offense, you need a reputable DUI attorney to help you fight a conviction. Criminal defense attorney Joni Eisenstein has represented many clients who have been charged with a DUI in San Diego County and has successfully helped them achieve favorable results in their criminal cases.
Schedule your free consultation today. Contact Criminal Defense Lawyer Joni Eisenstein.
What is a second offense DUI in California?
If you are pulled over for driving under the influence, the police officer will perform a background check to determine if you have any prior DUI or wet reckless convictions within the last 10 years. If so, you can be arrested for a DUI and charged with a second offense. It is important to note that a prior arrest for DUI that did not result in a conviction will not count as a first offense. If arrested for any DUI offense in San Diego, you will deal with both the San Diego criminal justice system and the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
What are the penalties for a second DUI?
As noted above, the penalties for a second DUI conviction are typically more harsh than a first time offense. Criminal and DMV penalties can include:
- 3 to 5 years of probation
- 96 hours to one year in jail
- Fines ranging between $390 to $1,000
- Additional fines and penalties that can total several thousand dollars
- Successful completion of a state-licensed DUI school
- Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device
- Driver’s license suspension of up to two years
- Restricted driver’s license in some cases
Penalties for a second DUI conviction within 10 years can be significant. It is critical that you understand the San Diego court procedures as well as the California DMV procedures in order to avoid additional penalties. For example, if you fail to request a DMV hearing within 10 days of your arrest, you may get an automatic license suspension.
What should I do after being arrested for a DUI in California?
If you or someone you love has been arrested for driving under the influence or for a second DUI offense, it is imperative that you contact an experienced criminal defense attorney immediately. The right attorney can guide you through the complicated legal process, inform you of your available defenses and fight vigilantly for your rights and your freedom in a court of law.
There are a number of possible defenses depending on the specific circumstances of your case. Some common defenses a DUI attorney may explore include lack of probable cause for an arrest, failure of the breathalyzer test or some kind of misconduct on the behalf of the arresting officer. When you consult with your attorney, you will have the chance to discuss your case and determine which defense can help you reduce or clear you of these charges.
Contact the Law Office of Joni Eisenstein to learn more about how attorney Joni Eisenstein can help you maintain your freedom after a second DUI arrest in California. You can schedule your free consultation by calling 760-721-3161 today.
If you are on the fence about hiring a defense attorney, stop thinking about it, and do it now
Hiring a criminal defense attorney like Joni Eisenstein can help you go from a place of uncertainty to freedom.